Nick Cave - Idiot Prayer: Nick Cave Alone At Alexandra Palace (2 x Vinyl, LP, Album)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Product Overview

In Idiot Prayer, Cave plays his songs alone at the piano in a rarely seen stripped back form, from early Bad Seeds and Grinderman, right through to the most recent Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds album, Ghosteen.

The performance was filmed by award winning Cinematographer Robbie Ryan (The Favourite, Marriage Story, American Honey) in Alexandra Palace’s stunning West Hall. It was edited by Nick Emerson (Lady Macbeth, Emma, Greta). The music was recorded by Dom Monks.

Idiot Prayer is the fourth film that Nick Cave has released in collaboration with Trafalgar Releasing, following 2018's Distant Sky - Live in Copenhagen directed by David Barnard, 2016's One More Time With Feeling directed by Andrew Dominik and 2014's award winning 20,000 Days on Earth directed by Iain Forsyth & Jane Pollard.

“The film ‘Idiot Prayer’ evolved from my ‘Conversations With…’ events. I loved playing deconstructed versions of my songs at these shows, distilling them to their essential forms. I felt I was rediscovering the songs all over again, and started to think about going into a studio and recording these reimagined versions at some stage - whenever I could find the time.

Then, the pandemic came - the world went into lockdown, and fell into an eerie, self-reflective silence. It was within this silence that I began to think about the idea of not only recording the songs, but also filming them.

We worked with the team at Alexandra Palace - a venue I have played and love - on securing a date to film just as soon as they were allowed to re-open the building to us.

On 19th June 2020, surrounded by Covid officers with tape measures and thermometers, masked-up gaffers and camera operators, nervous looking technicians and buckets of hand gel, we created something very strange and very beautiful that spoke into this uncertain time, but was in no way bowed by it.

This is the album taken from that film. It is a prayer into the void - alone at Alexandra Palace - a souvenir from a strange and precarious moment in history. I hope you enjoy it.”

-Nick Cave

1             Spinning Song
2             Idiot Prayer
3             Sad Waters
4             Brompton Oratory
5             Palaces Of Montezuma
6             Girl In Amber
7             Man In The Moon
8             Nobody's Baby Now
9             (Are You) The One That I’ve Been Waiting For?
10           Waiting For You
11           The Mercy Street
12           Euthanasia
13           Jubilee Street
14           Far From Me
15           He Wants You
16           Higgs Boson Blues
17           Stranger Than Kindness
18           Into My Arms
19           The Ship Song
20           Papa Won't Leave You, Henry
21           Black Hair
22           Galleon Ship


(No reviews yet) Write a Review