Mr. Scruff – Ninja Tuna (3 x Vinyl, LP, Album, Deluxe Edition)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

Product Overview

This release hasn’t had its numbers confirmed yet - put your email into the Notify Me box above if you’re interested in grabbing this record in the future! Product set to arrive by April, prices and exact release date may be subject to change.


The brilliant "Ninja Tuna" is the latest Mr. Scruff album to get a deluxe makeover. Originally released as a CD in 2008 it's now available for the first time on vinyl as a deluxe triple LP (with bonus tracks) pressed on biovinyl with infinity peelable tuna sticker on the cover spanning 18 slabs of "foot-tapping funk and ball-busting breaks" (Mixmag). Mr. Scruff plays the role of Skipper with consummate ease and leads a motley crew of guests including Roots Manuva, Quantic, Alice Russell, Andreya Triana, Danny Breaks, Pete Simpson, and Skuff & Inja. Packed with the perkiest dancefloor heaters known to humankind ('Donkey Ride', Kalimba', 'Get On Down', 'Give Up To Get'), breaksome soul jazz - 'Music Takes You Up (with Alice Russell) and 'Hold On (with Andreya Triana)' - and lustrous digi dancehall in the shape of 'Nice Up The Function (feat. Roots Manuva)', Scruff is in total command of the dancefloor and gives the bassbins a comprehensive workout from beginning to end. Mr Scruff's combination of taking his music very seriously while managing not to take himself too seriously has made him unique in British dance and has helped him forge a sound and philosophy in which drinking tea holds mythological status and where it's always the music which gets you high. As a DJ, he plays across the board, flitting between soul, funk, hip hop, jazz, reggae, latin, african, ska, disco, house, funk, breaks, soundtracks and loads more. As a producer he makes music that draws on these influences, with a large dose of cheek and good humour. His cartoon drawings illustrate gig flyers, posters, record sleeves, t-shirts and usually accompany him at gigs as live animated visuals.



  1. 1
    Test The Sound  (Extended Version
  2. 2
    Music Takes Me Up
  3. 3
    Donkey Ride
  4. 4
    Hairy Bumpercress
  5. 5
  6. 6
    Nice Up The Function
  7. 7
    Bang The Floor
  8. 8
    Get On Down
  9. 9
    Hold On
  10. 10
    Give Up To Get
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
    This Way
  14. 14
    Stockport Carnival
  15. 15
    Fix That Speaker
  16. 16
    Bunch Of Keys
  17. 17
    Rocking Chair
  18. 18
    Nice Up The Function  (Remix Instrumental)


(No reviews yet) Write a Review